[Skip to Content]Privacy Policy
London/Glasgow-based post-punk trio Shopping stay true to their minimal dance-punk ethos while amping up the party vibe on their third full-length album, The Official Body, set for a January 19th release via FatCat Records. In conjunction with the album announcement, the bandRachel Aggs (guitar, vocals), Billy Easter (bass, vocals) and Andrew Milk (drums, vocals)share the video for the albums first official single, The Hype, a song about thinking for yourself, taking matters into your own hands and not listening to other people or institutions that try to take advantage and tell you what to think or how to be.After the release of their debut album, Consumer Complaints, and follow up, 2015s Why Choose, Shopping found themselves in an unrelenting cycle of touring. Meanwhile, in London, Power Lunches, a hub for the citys DIY scene and the bands usual rehearsal and writing space closed down. Upon returning from tour, Milk relocated to Glasgow. The distance added an element of pressure: As a band that only ever writes collaboratively, its essential for us to actually be together in the room before any songs start to formulate. It can be a little daunting when we all turn up, and we only have an afternoon to pull a song out of thin air. Add to that a sprinkling of Brexit, Trump, a principally imploding world, and youve got yourself The Official Body.Recorded and produced over 10 days by Edwyn Collins at his Clashnarrow studio, The Official Body is an album in which the thematic gravitas contrasts with the bands evolving sound. Weve always felt like what we do is political in that its cathartic and healing in some way, but at some point it just felt like making political music was a bit like putting a tiny band aid on an enormous wound, says Aggs as she describes the sense of disorientation that lies at the foundation of the album. While it may have been tempting to adopt a more serious tone, Shopping remained humorous in their approach the albums title, The Official Body,
  • Start:March 07, 2018 Time: 9:00 PM
  • End:March 07, 2018 Time: 11:59 PM
  • Recurring
  • Where:The Mothlight, 701 Haywood Road, Asheville, North Carolina, United States, 28806
  • Phone:N/A
  • Event Type: Concerts & Music, Family
  • Ticket Price:N/A


Captcha Code
* Required Fields

View Our Virtual Tour
This website is owned and maintained by Comfort Suites Outlet Center, a licensed user of certain proprietary trademarks and service marks of Choice Hotels International, Inc. Website design, hosting & internet marketing by Milestone.